"Yellowstone National Park" © Peter Kearns


Established by the U.S. Congress as a national park on March 1, 1872, Yellowstone National Park is located primarily in the great state of Wyoming. However, two of the four entrances into the park are in Montana. In July 2009, more than 900,000 people visited Yellowstone National Park.